Late Night Jitters of Unwanted Work

I often find myself lost between expansive periods of wasted time and an incorrigible bout of productivity loss. And within that abyss, all I’m thinking about is how to come out of it.

Unwanted work is probably one of my biggest weaknesses. That is why I know that I’ll never be able to work at some place where my job satisfaction is zero even if everything else soars high above the ceilings.

It happens. I’ve never really tried to avoid it. I guess that would be because I like to work. I understand the value of work and the experience that comes along with every line of code written. And that is what leads me to my demise. I never say no.

I guess I should start saying no to a few projects that arrive in the future, and believe that by saying ‘no’ to it, I will not be losing an opportunity, but will be making myself available for other opportunities.

I need time for myself. I need time to work on things that I’m inherently excited about. And if that should mean the sacrifice of a few opportunities, so be it!

Leave a comment